The UIS Community

A new kind of conversation addressing issues that UIS students and staff care about.

Friday, May 2, 2008

Favorite professors, and awards

Everyone who goes through college has a story to tell about a favorite professor. Mine was an economics professor in the 1970s who used "multimedia" TV screens before anyone used that word. He also would read from biographies, and poetry, during his lectures "just because I thought it is interesting." He was interdisciplinary all by himself at the University of Missouri, and his biggest lesson was: Education is not about what you know, but what you can figure out. This man was also deaf and could handle large lecture halls and small classrooms equally well. His name was John Kuhlmann.

UIS honored its own top faculty members of the year this week at a very upbeat ceremony. Hats off to the great teachers we have!

Labels: ,

14 Comments:

At May 2, 2008 at 7:36 AM , Anonymous sherry said...

I was a masters student in communication. Hank Nicholson was my advisor and I took several of his classes. Hank is a great teacher and a unique and wonderful person. He never fails to get rousing discussions going among his students. His wry humor is delightful. He has an incredible vocabulary and I remember learning the word 'perspicacious' from him :-) When Hank teaches, students learn. He is retiring this year, and UIS will lose one of our most intelligent and influential professors. Hank is a shining example of a teacher who enriched individual lives and helped so many make a difference in the world.

At May 2, 2008 at 8:21 AM , Blogger Carly said...

It's hard for me to narrow it down to any one favorite professor from UIS...so many of the teachers that I had there inspired me in their classes (and their involvement in the school community outside of that), and I can honestly say I wouldn't be where I am now without them. But, a sampling: